[Updated version] Tunisia: Making things Explicit

(Here is an updated, april 22, 2016, version of  tunisia-making-things-explicit Tunisia: Making Things Explicit . The comments have been kept here because they still apply. The second uncompleted part on metacompilers still remains here.)

Return of dictator Ben Ali. Analysis of truth.

Tunisia: Making things Explicit

Recently a government spokesman caused a lot of controversy in Tunisia by calling for the return of the dictator who was ousted in the 2011 revolution.

 Government Spokesperson Calls for Return of Ben Ali .

I’m not going to get into agreeing or disagreeing. But without doubt, I take it as a sign of life and energy and spirit alive in the country that such a provocative statement could be made by someone.

The purpose of this post is to look very, very carefully at a single word in the above article, but the single word illustrates a very important point about figuring out what the truth is.

Ah truth, truth, truth, a difficult subject but extremely important. If we have false ideas about what the truth is, our actions may be moving us in the reverse direction of where we want to go.

The single word is “myth”. At one point in the above article, someone talks about the myth that it was better when the dictator Ben Ali was in power.

But is it a myth? I don’t know. Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t. The article doesn’t offer evidence one way or another.

How do we determine what is the the truth?

That is the question that most of us are not likely to ask as we read the article.

A lot of times, when we read something, we are not thinking about what is true or not.

Maybe in a future post I will look more at this. It has been far harder than I thought to write this post. And I think I am beginning to see why. But that topic will be in another post, if I ever get around to writing about it. But at least I am starting to come up with some ideas as to why it has been so difficult to analyze for truth in the above article.

*** Part 2 *** added march 23 to april 22 *** pretty much a completely different topic ***

Are there any people in rural Tunisia who would be interested in playing with metacompilers? No commitments on anybody’s part. I’m just bringing up a topic.

Metacompilers? Tunisia? Rural?

Let’s start with metacompilers. Why am I suddenly bringing up metacompilers?

Before writing further in this post, I figured I better do a fast look-over on the internet for metacompilers. I was horrified. There are so many different things said about them, and so many different perspectives on how to look at them.

For one thing, the depth of “official” “academic” “expertise” on any compilers, meta or otherwise, is huge and deep. For instance, look at Aho and Ullman’s book on compilers to see how huge and deep and complex and theoretical they can get. (And I think in future versions of the book, they added another author.)

However!

Maybe 97% of the overwhelming essentials of metacompilers, and of what we need, can be got from a (relatively) extremely simple perspective and ideas. I get the impression that Tunisians assume there is an “official” knowledge, and that it must be followed in an unquestioning manner. In the case of metacompilers, that is not a good approach.

Next two items. Tunisia. Rural.

Why am I mentioning Tunisia and rural?

At the end of 2010, Mohamed Bouazizi (sometimes spelled with two m’s) set himself on fire in protest of pretty bad conditions he was enduring with the regard to the government, a government’s police person, and employment. This started a revolution in Tunisia, which eventually spread to much of the Arab world under the title of “Arab Spring” though it did not work out as well as in Tunisia, where a fairly nasty Tunisian ruler, president Ben Ali fleeing, and then over a number of years and only recently a new Tunisian Constitution finally.

Back in 2010, I read on the internet about Bouazizi,  and I felt very sad, especially with the picture of him in the hospital bed. By the way, it was only somewhat recently that I read how his story even appeared on the internet back then. The story was picked up by some European news sources and made a big item on the internet.

Starting with the time of Bouazizi, I often followed what was happening in Tunisia, and eventually to a certain degree, what was happening in the Arab World. It took quite a while before I got some hold of the many forces at work in the Arab world, and also in near areas outside the Arab world. The complexity isn’t surprising, considering how ancient this part of the world is, ancient in terms of substantial groupings of humans.

Maybe three years ago I discovered that Bouazizi was in rural Tunisia and that unemployment was much higher there. Maybe I had some identification with that because my father left the rural farmlands of Missouri when he was very very young and went to Chicago (that was in the start of the Great Depression).

*** maybe to be continued ***

 

8 thoughts on “[Updated version] Tunisia: Making things Explicit

    • I looked at your gravator (or whatever it is called) and see that you are in India (not Tunisia or Egypt). Also I looked at some of your sites, namely the forests of India. Very beautiful. Also, it is different looking at text and pictures in a book, compared to looking at text and pictures put up by a specific human, especially if the human is on the other side of the planet from where one lives.
      We have lots of of forests here in Idaho, where I live. (Idaho is a state in the US, but even most people in the US do not know where Idaho is – and who knows, maybe that is a good thing). We have some forests that are made into government (state or federal) parks, and they are huge, and all the land in them is wild, rugged, and natural – except for some teeny entrance area. More like what you call the “Great Canyons of India” on your Enchanted Forests site.
      Your comments have motivated me to “clean up” my Reason-and-the-Real site. I got an avatar picture, added an avatar description, changed the “R. A.” to the friendlier “Bob”, and spent several hours figuring out how to do all this.
      Can you say something about what it was that motivated you to write “great post” to my post. Was it the mention of “truth” in my post (I noticed that your Great Canyons of India post mentioned truth)? Was it my mention of Tunisia, or the discussion in Tunisia of whether the previous dictator should return? Or was it the length of the post? Or the personal items about my father?
      (By the way, I am rewriting my post to make it clearer. I find that about a month after I post something, I can go back and read it and see much better how to write it better.)
      Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

